James Stevenson wins AIChE conference presentation award

Congratulations to PhD candidate, James Stevenson, of the Clancy group for winning this year’s AIChE CoMSEF conference presentation award. This award “recognizes excellence and rewards significant contributions in research.” COMSEF is AIChE’s Computational Materials Science and Engineering Forum and is the “home” for much of the molecular simulation research within AIChE.

3 New Papers Accepted

A. M. Hiszpanski, J. D. Saathoff, L. Shaw, H. Wang, L. Kraya, F. Lüttich, M. Brady, M. L. Chabinyc, A. Kahn, P. Clancy, and Y-L. (Lynn) Loo, Halogenation of a Non-Planar Molecular Semiconductor to Tune Energy Levels and Band Gaps for Electron Transport, Chem. of Materials, 27, 1892 (2015)

-Jonathan’s contribution was a set of ab initio calculations for contorted halogenated hexabenzocoronene semiconductors (think small pieces of graphene) with the inspired realization that the effect of halogen -F or -Cl was less important than the electron density that they provide.

J.M. Stevenson, W. Foud, D. Shalloway, D. Usher, J. Lunine, W. Chapman and P. Clancy, Solvation of nitrogen compounds in Titan’s seas, precipitates, and atmosphere, Icarus, in press (2015)

-This joint effort with researchers at Rice University TX, Faud and Chapman, defined the solubility of many important chemicals found in Titan’s seas and atmosphere. The Rice folks used a variety of equation of state methods including SAFT; James’s contributions were the free energy calculations of the relevant species.

V. C. Sorg, S.N. Zhang, M. Hill, P. Clancy, M. O. Thompson, Dopant Activation and Deactivation in InGaAs during Sub-Millisecond Thermal Annealing,” Silicon Compatible Materials, Processes, and Technologies for Advanced Integrated Circuits and Emerging Applications 5 issue of “ECS Transactions” (ECST) from the ECS Chicago meeting, in press (2015)

-This is Tori’s first paper from her thesis work (congratulations!) that describes the significant progress that she and her team (Suki and Megan) have made to understand dopant activation in InGaAs using laser annealing and its exposition using Raman. Tori’s development of Raman expertise brings new skills to the Thompson lab.

Stevenson Undergraduate Researcher News

Please welcome to the group a new undergraduate student, Warren Crowell, who will be undertaking research in James Stevenson’s burgeoning sub-group. Warren just received College of Engineering funding from Intel via the ELI (Engineering Learning Initiatives). He will be starting in the summer and working on developing models for organic-inorganic hybrid materials, such as the PbS and PbSe quantum dot precursors and the PbI/Cl-based perovskites. Warren is a dual major in ChE and CS.

In additional news, two of James’s team, Jovana and James R., will be leaving us for the summer to take up internship positions. Jovana will be at Northwestern and James will be at a solid fuel cell start-up in California called Bloom Energy. Good luck to them both!

Undergraduate Awards


Jovana Andrejevic, an undergrad in the Clancy group, has won this year’s College of Engineering Alumni Association (CEAA) Undergraduate Research Award. The award will be presented to her at CEAA’s annual awards banquet on April 24th, 2015. Jovana has been doing an outstanding job on the lead chalcogenide modeling studies with her mentor, James Stevenson, and should get a first-author publication from her results.

Cornell MSE Megan Hill

Megan Hill, senior in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, has won the NSF Graduate Fellowship. Megan is an undergrad experimental collaborator with the III/V materials group.  This prestigious national award will support her graduate career for three years wherever she goes.

NSF Graduate Fellowship Winners

Congratulations to Taha Ezzyat for winning a three-year NSF Graduate Fellowship. Taha continues the recent success of the Clancy group in winning NSF Fellowships, most recently to Tori and Alexandra.

In addition, congratulations to Henry Herbol for receiving an Honorable Mention.

Both Taha and Henry will receive XSEDE allocation of cycles for their research.